The Camanachd Association are delighted to announce that Finlay MacLennan (Beauly) will captain Scotland U17’s on the RICruden Tour of Ireland from Sunday 23rd July – Wednesday 26th July.

The annual tour, which has been taking place for over twenty years, sees the country’s elite shinty players play shinty/hurling challenge matches against their Irish counterparts, this year from Kildare and Kilkenny.

Scotland Captain

Finlay MacLennan

“I am buzzing to be captaining Scotland for this year’s U17 International. I was part of the squad last year and the experience was unforgettable, but to lead the team out is that much more special.”

Finlay was named the MOWI U17 Player of the Year last season after Captaining Beauly to MacTavish Juvenile Success and was also the recipient of the Sandy MacKay Man of the Match Medal. The Beauly player has 4 goals for the first team this season.

This year’s tour will be sponsored by our friends at RICruden, an established Mechanical and Renewable business who uphold an exceptional reputation for high quality installations and are based in the Highlands of Scotland.

RiCruden Director

Callum Cruden

"We're delighted to support shinty and the Camanachd Association’s commitment to developing the sport at grassroots level. This collaboration embodies a shared vision of empowering young people and a commitment to the local community which is reflected in RI Cruden's award winning renewable energy apprenticeship programme. I am proud to be partnering with the under 17's team and honoured to be able to give back after my own experiences and fond memories of trips to Ireland with the Scotland team for various youth and senior teams.”

RICruden Scotland U17 Fixtures

  • Mon 25th July – Scotland U-17s v Kildare U-17s – Hawk Field, Centre of Excellence
  • Tue 26th July – Scotland U-17 v Kilkenny U-17 – Nolan Park


This year’s squad is:

Arron Jack                   Kinlochshiel

Charlie MacRae             Beauly

Innes Jackson              Oban Celtic

Lennox Stewart            Beauly

Matthew Sloss              Oban Camanachd

Rory Slaughter             Kinlochshiel

Louie MacFarlane          Oban Camanachd

Callum MacIver            Beauly

Archie Millar                Skye

Archie MacRae              Kinlochshiel

Torrin Cairns                Beauly

Euan Dingwall              Newtonmore

Rory McDonald             Bute

Finlay Maclennan          Beauly

Iain Hunter                  Inverness

Thomas MacKinnon       Beauly

The squad travelled across to Dublin on Sunday 23rd July, and return on Wednesday 26th July.