2021 was an exciting year for the shinty world as it returned to action after a near 18 month hiatus. As we stand on the precipice of a new season the Camanachd Association wanted to look back on 2021 and celebrate the achievements of the lifeblood of the sport, its players.

All senior Club Captains, as representatives of their club, were asked to nominate someone from another club in the Senior Leagues (MOWI National & Premiership) in each position in order to determine a shortlist for the MOWI Team of the Season. Captains could not name anyone from their club in the team of the year and the final team was chosen by the fans via Twitter poll. The poll, which ran over the festive period and received over 3,500 votes, culminated today with the choice of Manager.

Perhaps unsurprisingly, the team is dominated by Kinlochshiel players after their heroics in winning the Tulloch Homes Camanachd Cup & Cottages.com MacTavish Cup for the first time in their history. Kyles & Kingussie’s 2021 silverware success was also acknowledged by the fans as both were represented twice in the 12 man squad. Despite their teams not lifting senior trophies in 2021; Steven MacDonald and Daniel Sloss were still popular picks and made the side representing Newtonmore and Oban Camanachd respectively. The only non-Premiership inclusion comes at Manager as Beauly’s Gregor MacCormick and Niall MacLennan were rewarded by fans for reaching the Balliemore Cup Final and holding their own in a strong league.

Aarron Duncan-MacLeod, Marketing & Communications Officer, Camanachd Association said:

“It’s great to see so many deserving winners in the MOWI Team of the Season. These types of polls are often close run and always contentious and I hope that this will give shinty fans the world over something to talk about ahead of what is set to be an exciting 2022 campaign.”


Team in full:

Goalkeeper:        Josh Grant                             Kinlochshiel

Full back:             Finlay MacRae                       Kinlochshiel

Wing back:          Andy King                               Kyles Athletic

Wing back:          Daniel Sloss                           Oban Camanachd

Half back:            Conor Cormack                      Kinlochshiel

Wing centre:        Donald Nixon                         Kinlochshiel

Full centre:           Ross MacRae                        Kyles Athletic

Wing centre:        Steven MacDonald                   Newtonmore

Half forward:        Ruairidh Anderson                   Kingussie

Wing forward:      James Falconer                     Kingussie

Wing forward:      Jordan Fraser                         Kinlochshiel

Full forward:        Keith MacRae                        Kinlochshiel

Managers            Gregor MacCormick

Niall MacLennan                    Beauly