Scotland U17 Squad Announced

The Camanachd Association is pleased to announce the Scotland Under 17 squad for the Tour of Ireland in July.

The annual tour, which has been taking place for over twenty years, sees the country’s elite shinty players play shinty/hurling challenge matches against their Irish counterparts.

This year’s tour will once again be sponsored by RICruden, an established Mechanical and Renewable business who uphold an exceptional reputation for high quality installations and are based in the Highlands of Scotland.

Callum Cruden, Director of RICruden, said, “We’re delighted to support shinty and the Camanachd Association’s commitment to developing the sport at grassroots level for another year. This collaboration embodies a shared vision of empowering young people and a commitment to the local community which is reflected in RI Cruden’s award winning renewable energy apprenticeship programme. We look forward to supporting the squad as they set their sights on achieving great things this July.”

National Development Manager Ronald Ross commented, “Over the past 12 months, the standard of U17 shinty has been impressive. The members of this squad have demonstrated exceptional skill and dedication, reflecting the high calibre of young talent in our sport. We are excited to see them take on this challenge and believe they will represent Scotland admirably in Ireland.”

2024 Scotland U17 squad:

Charlie MacRae                   Beauly

Auryn Kerr                         Col Glen

Arran Stephen                     Fort William

Archie MacKinnon             Fort William

Alfie MacLeod                     Glenurquhart

Daniel MacLean                 Glenurquhart

Shane O’Rua                       Kilmallie

Fergus Sherlock                 Kingussie

Sam Thain                          Kingussie

Calum MacMillan                Kinlochshiel

Kieran Martin                      Kinlochshiel

Kyle Clark                          Newtonmore

Joe Coyle                           Newtonmore

Tristan Ross                        Newtonmore

Matthew Sloss                     Oban Camanachd

Alexander MacDonald      Oban Camanachd

Ewen Campbell                    Oban Celtic

Archie Millar                         Skye

Seonaidh-Alex MacLeod       Skye

The squad travels across to Dublin on Sunday 21st July, and returns on Wednesday 24th July. Details of the matches will be announced in due course.