Comann Camanachd Tatha is For

With roots originating from Perth, Tayforth Camanachd was founded in 1973 by Barry Nesbitt and Father Eugene O’Sullivan. 

Their home pitch relocated to Peffermill Playing Fields in Edinburgh in 2019.


Mens – 

Mod Cup – 1980, 1986, 1996, 2004

National Aviemore Sixes – 1990

Bullough Cup – 2015, 2016

South Division 1 – 1998

South Division 2 – 2016

Womens – 

WCA Development League – 2017

South Development League – 2017

Tayforth have tasted various levels of success throughout their 48 years, winning the Bullough Cup in 2015, as well as retaining this in 2016. In 1998, Tayforth won South Division 1 and reached the National League Playoffs against Kilmallie. This year also saw Tayforth make the finals of the Balliemore Cup, losing 3-2 against Caberfeidh. Tayforth also reached the Semis of the Camanachd Cup in 1988. 

Tayforth compete in South Division 1, following promotion in 2016 from South Division 2. The 2021 season finds Tayforth in MOWI South League B, where they aim to enjoy the return of competitive shinty. 

Tayforth Womens’ Camanachd was created in 2017 with strong beginnings, winning both the South Development League and the WCA Development League in their founding year. 

Isla McKay earned the WCA Marine Harvest Development League East Player of the year with Tayforth in 2017. The team can be found in the South Division 2 Leagues, where they continue to develop and strengthen their squad. 

Both teams pride themselves their inclusivity, being built with players from different backgrounds and sports.

The team has been privileged by high quality players from premier teams pass through, such as Orston Gardiner from Newtonmore and Rory Fraser from Kingussie.

Notable alumni include the aforementioned “Shinty Priest” Fr. Eugene O’Sullivan, Hugh O’Kane and Willie Dowds.